First night in Oslo, Takeaway and slep at 9pm!

I have to meet Erik at 17.00 at the Central Station, in front of the statue of the Tiger. I met him through CouchSurfing as well, and he has offered me the accommodation for the night.  I put my hand up for him to identify me. Erik is the classic Scandinavian guy, pale skin, with a little of beard, almost imperceptible, because it’s so blond that it seems albino.  He is also tall and thin with a beer belly.
Inside the station there is an Indian takeaway.   We order the dish of the day consisting of Kurkuma chicken with sauce, rice pilaf and salad.

I pick-up my suitcase and we pass through a construction site and a small cemetery. I start to feel tired, trying to keep a conversation and discuss repayment for housing even though I’m looking forward to getting to bed. Just as we arrived, we welcomed his cat. Erik asks if I’m allergic or afraid of cats, I shake my head to say no, and patting the creature. We eat on the couch while watching the Simpsons in their original language with subtitles in Norwegian. After eating, Erik notices that my breath becomes heavier, and I with closed eyes, so he asks me if I want to go to sleep.  I look at my watch, it is 9 PM, the sun is not yet gone down, but I’m exhausted. I wish him goodnight and we arrange at what time the alarm will wake us in the morning.  I wake up at 8 am. Erik has to be at work at 9 am. I ask him what his job is while I drink coffee.  Yesterday he mentioned it to me during the walk to go home, but the tiredness made me totally isolated. He works in a Kindergarten as a teacher. So I asked him if he was the royal palace with the children yesterday. Sadly he said no, but they went to the botanical garden.  What a wonderful initiative! I was always locked up in my kindergarten when I was toddler.  We went up to the garden outside the building, and that was it!

I ask if I may leave my luggage, then pick it up in the afternoon, he nods, saying that there are no problems. He informs me that he finishes work at 4 pm and then we can see at the same place from yesterday at 4.30 pm. It’s rather chilly outside. I am waiting a bit for the temperature to warm up in the station where I’m writing!

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Esteban scrive:

    Truly when someone doesn’t be aware of then its up to other users that they will assist, so here it occurs.

  2. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thanks.

    1. well if you want to follow me;) and share this with your friends or yahoo;) I don’t know;)eheheh

  3. Hello, always i used to check webpage posts here early in the break of day, for the reason that i like to gain knowledge of more and more.

    1. Thank you very much…and spead your shout to all NEW CANEY TEXAS!!
      Regards

  4. Maui Hotels scrive:

    Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next
    post thanks once again.

    1. HI

      WELL, I hope did u read also the other posts;)

Lascia un commento

