“Grattis prå din Federsetag!” Swedish Birthday!

During the trip I try to learn a bit of Swedish. I already know a few words, but am unable to understand it or have a conversation. I ask Fredrick how they say “Happy Birthday” in Swedish, so I can say it to Mary. She knows that I am Italian and she also speaks English, like most Swedes; to say it in English would be accepted, but I always like to use the language of the country I visit when I can. The people always find it nice that some “foreigner” is interested in their language!

We arrive at Mary’s place. With a beautiful smile I say: “Grattis pra din Federsetag!”—Best wishes for your Birthday!

Maria is thirty-six years old, the younger sister of Fredrick, but honestly he seems to be younger than she is. I’m given a tour of the house and when we come to the children’s room, it looks like an advertisement from IKEA: two girls of the same age as Mary are playing with ten children, all blond! Wooden toys everywhere, legos, and the room walls of natural unstained wood. While the girls play mothers with the children, their boyfriends are in the garden barbecuing, even if it’s raining. We leave the women to their education activity in the “IKEA room.”

The men outside are drenched, as much by their own sweat as by the rain. Meat, vegetables, and corn are being cooked. Leif, Mary’s fiancé, is more or less forty, tall with glasses; when he turns the meat on the barbecue, his glasses completely fog. The other man, Kay, is the same age as Leif, stocky and tanned. He’s a policeman. Better have him as a friend!

We go back in the house. One of Mary’s friends asks me if I speak Swedish: “Well, let’s see! I like trying to speak in Swedish? I learn from my mistakes!”

Once I worked as a receptionist in a hotel. A Brazilian family, speaking Portuguese, was staying at the hotel. They asked if I could speak Portuguese. I didn’t have time to say “Poquino.” They began to speak quickly in Portuguese. I discovered that the Portuguese of Portugal is completely different from that of Brazil. It’s like a person from Rome and one from Bari: totally different. I did not want to make a fool of myself and say that I did not understand what they were saying. I nodded, saying, “Ta bon” and smiled when they smiled. They might have said a joke. I seemed to be in a scene from the movie “Heartbreaker” where Sigourney Weaver, to get a millionnaire, pretends she knows Russian. The millionaire takes her to a Russian restaurant and the waiter, learning that she’s a fellow villager begins to talk to her in Russian. Not to let others know she doesn’t understands anything, she nods constantly,  saying: “… DA DA DA ..!” Small brackets!

This time I demonstrate honesty and admit that I know some words in Swedish, but that I can’t hold a conversation. So we talk in English.

The woman is blonde. I don’t remember her name but I do remember that she’s a biologist in Obbola, Fredrick and Mary’s hometown. They know each other since they were little.

The other woman holds one of her children in her arms; she asks me if I have friends who have children. The answer is that recently I became the “uncle” of a beautiful girl who is just over a month, Victoria. But certainly I have no friends with a nursery at home! The reason is that I’m 26 years old and many of my friends are the same age. She does not understand this, since she has many friends of that age who have children going to school. She says that she is thirty years old,  has two children and has had her first child when she was my age. I explain the standard of living in Italy. In Sweden it’s definitely easier to have children because the economic crisis is not so severe, because students find a job soon after ending University which gives them the stability to start a family. However, her response makes me think. “I’ll have to ask one of my friends to become pregnant! Finally comes the jelly!”

It is 16.30 and dinner is ready! It is a buffet dinner. I take a bit of everything: mixed grilled meats, roasted corn, and vegetables. I taste the different sauces, and the mix of butter, garlic and cheese which is typical of the Fredrick’s village. I also taste a cheese similar to smoked cheese; it is grilled in fact: the Halumi.

There’s a birthday cake for dessert. It is covered with meringue and has layers of strawberries and meringue… slurp! I take a cup of coffee. There’s still half of the cake left. Maria asks if I want another piece. Not to give sadden her… I AGREE! While I enjoy every single bite, I promise that tomorrow I will be watch my waist; but I always say that and start the diet for in the morning and then quit it at lunch.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for the good writeup. It if truth be told was a enjoyment account it.
    Glance complex to far brought agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

  2. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all
    that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    1. Here we are u need that I approve the comments eheh

      Thank u

  3. Wow, this article is good, my sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going to
    let know her.

    1. Hi Thank you tell me also what your sister thinks;)

    2. hello
      so you must follow me and tell what your sister thinks!

  4. coffee mugs scrive:

    Enjoy each cup of your coffee much more

    Maybe you are such coffee addict as I do. Yes, I can’t imagine that I couldn’t get my
    cups of finest coffee each day. I usually need 8-12
    cups per day. Drinking of the finest coffee gives me a lot of pleasure, for sure.
    However, there is another key thing which gives me such alluring feeling when I am drinking a cup of my coffee each time.

    Yes, you are right. A lot depends on a cup
    which you are using for your coffee. Beautiful coffee
    sets are my loving passion, and I am a collector of these sets.
    I was interested in some truly stunning coffee set for pretty long time.

    I was searching for such set on the Net a lot. And I was lucky to find a delightful coffee set I
    was dreaming about. This magnificent coffee set in the secession style contains totally splendid mocca cups, excellent coffee mugs and phenomenal sugar
    bowl and the coffee pot.

    Believe me, I never had such delightful feeling when I am using this coffee set for
    my coffee every day. I found the company
    named WEXONMART which is selling this fascinating coffee
    set in their on-line store. So, if you are such coffee addict as I do then this dazzling coffee set in the wonderful
    secession style will get such exquisite feeling when your
    will be drinking your coffee every day.

    Regards to all coffee lovers

    Graig LANGRIDGE

    Santa Barbara, CA

    1. Thank you by me and by all the coffee addicted!

  5. Hi! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    1. Yes, I tried a lot of blogs, and the best it’s wordpress! definetely! It’s really professional!

Lascia un commento

