A wonderfull wake up: Homemade Våffel with whipped cream and Hjortron

I wake up with the smell of warm sweets mixed with coffee aroma, a great awakening! I get up rubbing my eyes and I see Fredrick in the kitchen preparing breakfast: “Våffel” fresh, homemade, warm, and fragrant with whipped cream, strawberry jam, and yellow currants.

Fredrick tells me that the yellow currants are called “Hjortron” and also “Norrland’s Gold” because it is found only in the Northern Sweden forests and it’s very expensive: a can of 100 grams could cost as much as  30 euros! His parents are lucky to live right there and his mother often walks to the forest to pick “Hjortrons” to make marmalade. In fact what I’m tasting it’s his mother’s homemade jam. What more can I ask for?

I enjoy those delicious “Våffel” that are so different from the “Våffel” that are sold in Italy. These ones in Italy come from Belgium, while the one I’m eating now are typically Swedish and are much finer, similar to pancakes, with the difference that are more crunchy!

I confess the sin of gluttony: one… two… three… four… ok, better stop counting otherwise I will feel guilty! Rather than call it breakfast, I will call it brunch because of the time of the day. I console myself by telling myself that it will be my only meal of the day. So I enjoy another “Våffel” and cream alternating with strawberry jam and yellow currants.

In the afternoon we rest a while. Fredrick still has a hangover. I take the opportunity to surf the Internet and be available to the world.

Fredrick alternates between playing Swedish and Italian music, until he realizes that Italian music doesn’t please me that much. My grandfather listened to those songs when he was young. I’m surprised by some of the melodies I’ve heard from some famous singers that I didn’t think came from Sweden because, in the end, the songs are in English. In particular I know that some songs have been translated into Italian for the  Muccassassina, a nightclub in Rome where I go every Friday night with my friends. A song we both know is “Hero” by Charlotte Perrelli. It is in English but Fredrick sings the Swedish version and I sing the Italian version which I’ve heard at the Muccassassina. We look like Tina Turner and Eros Ramazzotti!

Outside it’s raining and chilly, it makes me a little bit sad, but at least I regain the energy lost in my trip.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Michaela scrive:

    Wow, superb blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your
    website is fantastic, let alone the content!

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      Hi michaela
      Sorry for the delay of this reply. Thank you for your kind comment, sometime I would like to change, but I still confortable with this overall and layout,I wish you continue to follow me;)

  2. kolagen - krem scrive:

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have really loved browsing your
    blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  3. Darcy scrive:

    oh la la! thanks for the post!http://www.kitsucesso.com

  4. Expedita scrive:

    wow. great tips! http://www.acertemail.com

Lascia un commento

