Traveling like Thelma & Louise

Fika Fika Fika!

(Swedish coffee break)

I wake up after a couple of hours before arriving at the Högankustenbro, the highest bridge in Sweden. I’m still a little bit sleepy but I can feel goose bumps as we drive on the bridge; it looks like the San Francisco bridge. Fredrick explains, as a good tourist guide, that the bridge was built in 1997, is 182 meters high, and extends for 1210 meters.

We stop at an autogrill for coffee and a sandwich: Fika, Fika! When I step out of the car, wearing only shorts, I freeze: the cold is deadly; but just to see the surprised faces of the Swedes looking at pictures of a man wearing shorts when the temperature is 5ºC is worth it… PRICELESS! How silly I am!

We continue our journey and we are in front of a huge MAX with flags waving proudly.The city is called Örnskönskwik, the birthplace of Max. The one before us is the very first one, before expanding throughout Sweden to compete with American McDonald!

Gl inhabitants of the country are so proud of this fast food restaurant that they have banned both McDonald and Burger King! I imagine them like medieval peasants with pitchforks and shovels who want to ward off the “monster!”

Besides Max, Örnskönskwik (I have no idea how to pronounce it) is famous for the hockey team “Floppa” and its stadium. We pass quickly, then stop at another autogrill. Upon entering Fredrick takes a basket and, as Little Red Riding Hood, fills it with chocolate and other junk as if he is picking flowers for his grandmother. I go to the  books, newspapers, and CD  section and when I see the New Eurovision cd, I call Fredrick to show it to him. He looks at me for a moment raising his eyebrow and then puts it in the basket along with the chocolate bars.

“Dear Thelma, this CD is the soundtrack of our trip to Scandinavia!”

We take yet another cup of coffee and a Kanelbulle, a roll with cinnamon, my favorite spice! I love the “Kanelbulle!”

 

Fredrick spreads the chocolate bars in his hand to offer me one, as a magician with his deck of cards: “Which one do you choose?” I choose a chocolate caramel very similar to the Lion. As I taste it, he opens the car trunk where the cd player is. He puts in two cd’s confessing that his stereo can contain up to five cd’s.

As we get going, I put on my sunglasses, playing the role of Thelma; I turn on the stereo, pull my sunglasses down, and say: “Louise, ok, let’s go!

27 Comments Add yours

  1. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This
    sort of clever work and exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  2. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      Hello,
      I don’t know if your computer support the image, I look personaly and it seems ok;) but let me know if u are any problems;)
      Thanks
      Fabio

  3. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

  4. The following pattern has attained the most current amount as a result of involving on-line blog-post
    solutions you could tackle the highway. Because most customers
    spend more time on-line, blogs and forums for
    instance make this happen punch their particular investigation into super speed

  5. Hester scrive:

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve
    done a excellent job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super fast for me on Safari.
    Excellent Blog!

  6. Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.
    Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just bookmark this web site.

    High Protein Low Carb Diet

  7. lista de email scrive:

    your work is very appreciated for me, i always read your posts. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

  8. What’s up, this weekend is fastidious in favor of me, because this occasion i am reading this great educational article here at my residence.

  9. winston blue scrive:

    It’s in fact very difficult in this active life to listen news on TV, therefore I just use internet for that purpose, and take the hottest information.

  10. Penny scrive:

    What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to contribute & aid different customers like its aided me. Good job.

    1. Penny
      thank you and I wish you continue to follow me

  11. Hi, There’s no doubt that your website might be having web browser compatibility issues. When I take a look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, great blog!

    1. thanks;)

  12. good one scrive:

    Excellent website. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you in your effort!

    1. Thank you very much and don’t forget to follow me;)

  13. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your
    feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    1. I’m very glad that you liked it! YEs of course share wherever you want, this and also the other chapter if you want!

      Thanks

  14. gw2 gold scrive:

    Hey dear from a girlreader maintain the fab content

    1. Thank you! Did u like it?

  15. klo scrive:

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Thanks for supplying this information.

    1. Hi klo,
      I’m glad to hear it that!
      Anyway I wish like the other post too!

  16. I am really loving the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A small number of my blog visitors have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great
    in Chrome. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this
    problem?

    1. Hi jeanne
      well I used a theme of wordpress and I personalized with my picture, that’s it!eheh

  17. Edmund Eskaf scrive:

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for halten

  18. acne treatment scrive:

    First of all I want to say superb blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!

    1. Hi
      Well I don’t have any secret, the experience, the feeling and life tales are my tips!

Lascia un commento

