“Give me your Iphone!” the monopoly expected of Apple

16/06/2012

 

coffee baylesI take advantage of Neil tiredness, to stay a little bit longer under the sheets,  until noon. Then I have breakfast with coffee and Baileys and also some cupcakes. I must absolutely buy an American sim card. Neil should definitely buy a birthday card for his sister and father’s birthdays’ and he should definitely send them today, otherwise it won’t arrive in time for their birthdays’. We keep each other company in matters of our urgency. But I need to let him know it’s urgent, because the time is close and there is also risk that they could close the Post Office  soon. Then we go to a supermarket express, where we find at the bottom, hidden between the chips and coke bottles, a shelf of greeting cards. Neil, a little disgusted, asked the girl who works there, if it’s just here in this department where you can find greeting cards? She nods in a way as if it was obvious.

After searching for a utopian nice greeting card, Neil decides to take any one of them, thinking that in the end, his sister has probably even forgotten his wish for her birthday!stanlio e ollio

We arrive at the Post Office: CLOSED! Neil with his tone of voice ; as if  sounding like Laurel & Hardy, annoyed, begins with a “Oh nou!”

So we go in search of another Post Office, where he’s sure that it’s open on Saturday, until the afternoon. While going at a brisk pace, in my mind I imagine Neil  – I quote the famous words of the two comedians, “Stenlio, you are always usually stupid! ”

The mail office is not open all afternoon, but until 2pm, so it’s still open, so while I make the queue, Neil is quick to write in the cards.  I notice that the Americans ‘lines’, are considerably faster than the Italian ! Although there were at least a dozen people in front of me, within five minutes I am already next. I try to attract the attention of Neil, to make sure that he hurries up, if not then I will have to let someone, to go in front of me.

At the counter, the secretaries are all Asian, probably from China. Head down without even taking a look at the letters, weighs for the amount and says what it is, looking  up only when Neil pulls out his wallet.

Next stop, SIM CARD!

In the same street as the Post Office we saw a shop of T-Mobile. Apparently, although there is credit on  my Italian card,  in the United States it is not working. At first I thought that it depended on the phone, since many phones must have a microchip in America. In fact when I was in Toronto in 2008, my phone was dead. Luckily my friends  were able every day to go to school and I was at home and there was no risk!

frankestein juniorWhile we were having breakfast, and before we continued on, I made a test with the American sim card belonging to Neil, just in case it depended on the phone  and not the Italian sim card: I turned on the phone … IT COULD WORK!  I said with the same emphasis of the mad scientist, Frankenstein Junior, who  had gone out to buy the sim. When we arrived at the store, we asked what the reduced rate for text messages was. The clerk advised me, that for $30, including 10 already on the sim card, I could have 1500 minutes calling and 1500 messages to all numbers in the U.S. It seemed to me, a very good offer!

“Can I have your IPhone, please?” I was asked. It’s probably taken for granted, that  I had an IPhone, and his statement  made me feel a bit poor.  I gave him my mobile phone, and he didn’t seem to mind, that I didn’t  have an IPhone.iphone

I passed my humble white Samsung with the qwerty keyboard, and so to remedy the previous gaffe, I  begin: – “Ohhh you have a Blackberry!” – But instead of fixing the situation, things got worse. So when I reveal that it is a Samsung, looks a bit ‘disgusted, as if it was the first old model, Nokia 3310.

The clerk, while inserting the card apologizes for the indelicacy, but the only Samsung he sees are the Galaxy and they are more or less very similar to the IPhone. I’m a little offended, until the activation work is finished. I can’t help suppress a sigh of relief, I’m finally available!

As soon as I receive a note that confirmed this, I sent the SMS to all numbers American;  to inform them of my new number. I have a dilemma. I don’t remember if Sid has left me a telephone number. I check  the phone book and the sheet where I have several American numbers.  There is a number written in the Wall Street section, perhaps he will be listed there?

For safety’s sake, I send him a message, which is a bit vague, about  tonight.  I suggest to him that I would have to see the room, so I try to send a text message to confirm our date for tonight.

“Hello Sid, for tonight, how do we organize ourselves? Where shall we meet where and at what time?” I text.

Shortly after, I get a text message that he was shopping  near Chelsea and is free at 7pm, so I offer him to meet him at 7pm in front of the subway on 23th street.

Neil’s going to go back home and I walk to Chelsea ,which is not so far away and it is pleasant to wander through  Hell’s Kitchen, on my way to Chelsea.

35 Comments Add yours

  1. I just like the helpful info you provide on your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and test once more here regularly. I’m moderately certain I will be told many new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

  2. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you present here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, awesome blog!

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m
    assuming having a blog like yours would cost
    a pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure.

    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

  4. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    Your article has really peaked my interest. I will take a note of your blog and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  5. I like the helpful info you supply to your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at once more here frequently. I’m
    moderately sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the
    next!

  6. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like
    to send you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      you can contact me to my email adress

  7. Harrison scrive:

    Excellent website. Lots of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you for your effort!

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      thanks to you!

  8. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice at the same time as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a
    blog website? The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided shiny transparent idea

  9. Wow, marvelous blog structure! How lengthy have you
    ever been blogging for? you make blogging glance easy.
    The total look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content
    material!

  10. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the last part🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  11. What a data of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious know-how concerning
    unpredicted emotions.

  12. soccerhoney.com scrive:

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and definitely will
    come back at some point. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great
    job, have a nice afternoon!

  13. What’s up, the whole thing is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s truly fine,
    keep up writing.

  14. trugreen scrive:

    After checking out a number of the blog articles on your web site,
    I truly like your way of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark site list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my website as
    well and let me know what you think.

  15. website scrive:

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve
    read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.

    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!

  16. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Thanks a lot!

  17. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  18. Vicky scrive:

    When some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she wants to be available
    that in detail, so that thing is maintained over here.

  19. Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

  20. I do not even know the way I finished up here, however
    I thought this put up was good. I do not recognize who you’re however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you happen to
    are not already. Cheers!

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      ahahah maybe I will….someone discover me;)

  21. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it😉 I am going
    to return once again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help other people.

  22. article134.com scrive:

    May I simply say what a relief to find someone
    who genuinely understands what they’re talking about online. You certainly realize how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people must check this out and understand this side of your story. It’s surprising you are not more popular since you definitely
    possess the gift.

  23. roma-traslochi scrive:

    e’ difficile trovare persone competenti su questo argomento, ma sembra proprio che voi sappiate davvero di cosa state parlando! Grazie

  24. Lilia scrive:

    Having read this I thought it was very enlightening.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending
    way too much time both reading and commenting. But so
    what, it was still worthwhile!

  25. This piece of writing will assist the internet viewers for building up new webpage or even a weblog
    from start to end.

  26. It’s an remarkable paragraph for all the online viewers; they will get benefit from it I am sure.

  27. roofing sheets scrive:

    The team at CRS Roofing Sheets has a wealth of experience in roofing and cladding installation as well as maintenance and repairs and can offer valuable advice across all areas.

  28. Hi there to every single one, it’s in fact a good for me to pay a visit this web site, it includes important Information.

  29. ilaria scrive:

    Molto bello il blog… pero’ aspetto nuovi post, e’ da troppo tempo che non ci sono aggiornamenti. Vabbe’, intanto mi iscrivo ai feed RSS, continuo a seguirvi!

  30. you are in point of fact a good webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick.

    Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have done a great process in this topic!

  31. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get
    four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from
    that service? Bless you!

  32. First of all I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear
    your mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes
    tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any suggestions or hints? Appreciate it!

Lascia un commento

