Columbus Circle: every single thing I recall from Italy

18/06/2012

20:00

DSC01840After the bull, here we are in  the square dedicated to our countryman. I think that America is more Italian than English! In fact, the circular square in New York, the District of Manhattan, is famous for showing at  its center, the monument to Christopher Columbus. I climb the stairs of the metro and I see a huge globe, and I am surrounded by skyscrapers that surround the poor “Cristoforo”.The square is located at the southwestern end of Central Park, at the intersection of Broadway, Central Park West, Central Park South (West 59th Street), and Eighth Avenue. The name is also commonly used to indicate that the area consists of the blocks immediately adjacent to the square.

The square is of particular importance within the city of New York, among other things, being a sort of golden milestone from which all distances are measured, by the officers from New York. It was designed in 1905 by William Phelps Eno, built around the monument to Christopher Columbus, that was erected in 1892 in commemoration of the four hundredth anniversary of the discovery of America and funded by fundraising efforts by the newspaper Il Progresso. The marble statue – by the sculptor Gaetano Russo – stands on a granite pedestal – it  is 70 feet (21 meters) wide /high, decorated with bronze reliefs depicting the Niña, the Pinta and the Santa Maria, the three caravels of Columbus. At the foot of the column there is an angel holding up the globe. The square has recently been rebuilt for the occasion of its centenary in 2005, and this action saw the addition of fountains crown around the monument and the reorganization of the spaces of the central island, arranged with greenery and benches. It has always been an important  Traffic Hub in New York,  and it is now served by bus lines M5, M7, M10, M20, M104 and the lines A, B, C, D, and 1 of the New York City Subway.  That’s where I met Jorgie , an hispanic boy, who works for the social field and  he sent me an invitation to participate in the march to Central Park against AIDS. Unfortunately I couldn’t attend because the march was in May, but I will gladly go with him to gaypride!

Jorgie lives on Long Island, his family is originally from Peru, and he’s 30 years old., but honestly he looks 18. The air of New York suits him well, better to stay on the space! He waits for me in front of the statue  with sunglasses and a coffee, which is almost finished, in his hand, as if to emphasize my delay (which honestly I am  only ten minutes late). We  walk down Broadway, getting to know each other, without a destination, but to find a place to for something to eat. Working in the social and associations of Glbt, I ask him for some tips, just to know the right places and to avoid making unfortunate experiences,  on Saturday night.

Macys_fireworks

On Thursday there is “XL”, it’s free, and it’s the coolest club in New York at the moment.  I had a look when I went with Neil, but on Saturday evening it costs $ 20. In addition, being free and in the middle of the week, the boys are young, often students or tourists, other than what we saw at the Monster!

He also recommended for me to go for a weekend on Fire Island; it’s an island, where there are gay beaches and they are close to Manhattan. He even advised me to go there to celebrate the 4th of July, the Independence Day,  all gay people in New York will be there! You will dance all day long on the beach and it’s an opportunity I can’t miss.

Katy Perry in cima alle classifiche con "Fireworks"To be honest for the ‘”Independence Day” I was thinking to go to the Macy’s parade with the fireworks  – everything will be painted with all the blue, red and white, colors even the Empire State Building, which will  light up the skyline at night with light beams, showing a theme. In addition to private celebrations that will take place in the homes of New Yorkers, will be the inevitable parade of Macy’s that will be take place  in the morning, along the streets of the city. With this knowledge before arriving, I was excited to be involved. But Jorgie told me that it is a disappointment, a parade just for tourists, where if I really want to think about being a New Yorker, I musn’t go there, even if there is Katy Perry, who will sing “Fireworks”. I’m not sure what I will do, because it will be my last day in the United States and I would like to do something  special. Meanwhile, we find a starbucks coffee, and we take a tuna sandwich and an orange juice, and some vitamins to prepare for the training!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Howdy! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Thanks!

  2. I have read so many articles or reviews regarding the blogger lovers except this
    post is really a good post, keep it up.

  3. Clubtickets.Ws scrive:

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how
    much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Lascia un commento

