Macy’s, A Multi-Ethnic Wave- Memories of Christmas Movies

macysTo get home, Jorgie must go to Penn Station, so we stroll together … with a little “pit stop”! In fact, we take a bus that takes us to the front of Macy’s, the most famous department store in New York!

Overlooking Herald Square, and like many places in New York, it looks familiar; where it played “Miracle on 34th Street” a film that willy-nilly, I see every Christmas and reminds me that it’s actually Christmas time. In recent years, until December 24th, Advent; the Christmas atmosphere, I can’t take it anymore. The tradition has gradually vanished and the only thing that reminds me that Christmas is running, is to find gifts for friends and family. Many times, it’s thanks to movie like this, that I find the spirit, but it’s already late as they always show it about the 23rd or 24th and then I realize that it really is Christmas ,but it  is nearly over.miracle_on_34th_street_poster

However, Macy’s is definitely different. A wave of people push me towards the entrance, and I notice, however, that they aren’t New Yorkers.  I see it in the way they dress, the way they do things  e.g that they have in their hand the tourist guide to New York and that they look disoriented and admire the mall as if it was a monument – a multi-ethnic crowd of Jews, Indians, Chinese and Japanese, with their cameras. I can even recognize the Italian tourists. They often carry a backpack, a lot of the time with the Eastpack brand, map in hand and when they get lost, they can be often seen, to raise their hands and scream. By contrast, at Century 21, people had other shopping bags’ in their hand, and did not give much regard to the structure of the mall, as they were focused on heading to the clothing stores.

The ground floor of Macy’s is occupied by Macysport, selling men’s basic and casual wear. In the lower floor t here is a section for souvenirs and sweets. On the first floor are numerous accessories and apparel brands e.g. Louis Vuitton Polo Jeans. On the second floor there is the department of cosmetics and men’s collections while the third has Starbucks. On the fourth floor is the junior clothing, and up on the fifth floor, there are shelves housing women’s footwear and lingerie on the sixth. The next floors we still discover many surprises: everything for  furniture, but we have little time so we return to the first floor where a boy spray me the new fragrance of Calvin Klein.

macy2

There are, however, reasonable prices, compared with the Rinascente ( Italian department store) where prices are unaffordable. For example, I noticed the portfolios of Calvin Klein and Tommy Hilfiger at very attractive prices, but my conscience has curbed my instinct shopping, I’ll do it often here in New York if I want to survive for the rest of my trip, because  back in London, what even more it’s still unclear, is my itinerary. I only have a sketchy idea of what I will do, on my return.H&m

A few meters from the metro station there is H & M, so let’s take a quick stop, too. I discovered H & M in Toronto, in 2007 and since that time when I was abroad, I always did shopping there, I loved it and I prayed that there was even one in Rome. Thanks to the new big shopping center Roma Est, we had the first H & M  established  in Rome. Me and a friend of mine, who loved the shop too (we were so excited,) we even went to the inauguration. Unfortunately, since then I haven’t found anything interesting. With the passage of time, in other outlets too, I began to be disappointed and they no longer sold the clothes, like they had in the past. However, when I see this store in any city I still have the same initial excitement and I want to have a look to see if I can find something interesting.  Many times I remain disappointed and disheartened, so I go out without buying anything. This is also, one of “many times!”

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort
    to generate a really good article… but what
    can I say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t seem to get nearly anything done.
    Furniture for Kids

  2. Bebiblù scrive:

    I love H&M too!!!

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      and you agree with me???

Lascia un commento

