Circuit 25, Gym in Central park

CIRCUIT25 NYC

 

I remain enraptured by this brotherly love and the vital energy of those who pay homage to this icon of music, that I forget to look for Davide, the personal trainer who will train us. It’s an Italian name and I was amazed when I sent the email, but I thought it would probably be Italian-American, like millions of American citizens. I see a tall guy with the goatee, muscular, full of tattoos, who was also looking for some one. It’s him! I noticed only because he put his hand up looking towards my direction. I crossed the little square and met the other guys surrounding him. It seems like a Benetton ad: an Indian girl, a Hispanic girl and a blonde and a gray-haired gentleman.

We introduce ourselves, to discover everyone is really friendly, but unfortunately, my memory is bad and after five minutes I’ve already forgotten all the names. In five minutes we start our training and we are missing a girl, meanwhile Davide tells us about himself. As I thought his father is American and his mother is Italian. He would have the additional surname added when his mother died, in which he then shows me some flowers tattooed his arm.  FIORI (flower in Italian ) is his mother’s surname.  He was born and grew up in New York City, but now he lives in Hong Kong. I look up to him; I notice that traveling is not so unusual as many of my friends think. I wonder if it can be a way of life and if I can do so in the future, too.

Suddenly, the girl arrives but late.  Davide can begin to make us do the warm up exercises with a run up to the square where I had stopped this morning. I start doing exercises, and sometimes I hear Davide complimenting both to me and the other girls: “Fabio Good Job!” although I often hear also “Lower, lower”.davide_butson

With squats and running I can do it, but I hate doing push-ups, so I overlook some, obviously not lost by the watchful eye of Davide. He is on the alert, so he won’t let me overlook parts of the exercise and I have to start again.  Its an imperative tone resembling the colonel in “An officer and a gentleman”, so to tease him I say, “Yes, Sir,” and his strict expression changes suddenly and smiles at me.

At the end of training I’m exhausted, and I can already feel the first muscle pain in the arms and legs and in the gluteus muscles, but instead of complaining, I’m glad, because it means that I worked well. The exercises are all sections of 25: 25 abdominal, 25 squats, 25 push-ups each section, to promote the gym that is called Circuit 25.  Then he reveals his age, that goes with the sponsor of the gym or 25 squared: 50 years old! I look at him unbelievably; I thought he was around thirty years old! He confesses the secret of regular exercise, a healthy and balanced diet and lots of happiness! No elixir of eternal youth then? No botox or blood of virgins? Must pass this along to Demi Moore.  That poor girl to stay young is forced to do coffee enemas!

Davide has by now become my hero! I wish I will be 50 years old and like him. He actually took a test that revealed his biological age with a result that indicated he demonstrated as a 32 year old!

He invites me to have dinner with him and another, but politely I refused because I already have an invitation at 9.30 pm with a guy in Greenwich Village. At first I had made the appointment at 8:00 pm, but since the workout would have ended at 8.30 I asked to meet up later, around 9.30 pm. Unfortunately it’s already 9:00 and I have to hurry up and go, but I decided to walk twenty blocks.  The training is not over yet!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your
    site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile
    .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic site!

  2. dub rims scrive:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book
    in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog.

    A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

    1. Fabio Chiarini scrive:

      thank you very much and continue to follow me;)

  3. Asking questions are genuinely nice thing if you are not understanding something entirely,
    however this article offers nice understanding even.

  4. I visited several websites however the audio quality for audio songs present at this web page is
    actually wonderful.

Lascia un commento

